How to Get a West Virginia Assigned Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) – VIN Verification Form
To help you get your first West Virginia assigned vehicle identification number (VIN), we created this helpful guide.
If you are a current or past resident of the state, contact our office to obtain your VIN and warrantee information.
West Virginia has the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Other states might call it something different, like the Motor Vehicles Division (MVD), Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV), Driver Services Department (DSD), Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA), Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV), Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC), Department of Licensing (DOL), Department of Driver Services (DDS), Department of Public Safety (DPS), or Department of Transportation (DOT).
How Do I Get a West Virginia Assigned Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)?
1. You will need to contact an authorized law enforcement agency. The state DMV does not administer VIN inspections.
2. You can still contact the division to inquire about the authorized agencies and officials that conduct these inspections
3. If your VIN is illegible, missing, or destroyed, you will have to pay a $5 fee to get a new one
4. If your VIN is not visible or authentic, you will have to pay a $5 fee
What Documents Do I Need to Get a West Virginia VIN?
-A DMV-1B form
-A document identifying you
When verifying a VIN, you must provide your government-issued ID and signature. You will need to submit additional documents depending on the situation.
Why Should I Get a West Virginia VIN Check/Car ID Check?
1. You must have your VIN verified when titling an abandoned or junked car.
2. Verifying the VIN is a requirement of the DMV in West Virginia.
3. The VIN verification process can involve a physical inspection by a law enforcement official.
4. To verify a VIN number in West Virginia, you need to check to make sure the number is genuine and hasn’t been tampered with.
5. To learn more about when and how to replace a VIN number, read the sections below
Where Can I Go to Obtain a VIN Inspection in West Virginia? VIN Verification Form
1. The state DMV does not generally administer VIN inspections. You can contact the division to inquire about the authorized agencies and officials that conduct these inspections.
2. If the authorized official determines that your VIN is illegible, missing or destroyed, you will be required to pay a $5 fee.
3. If your VIN is not visible, authentic or complete, you will be asked to pay a $5 fee for the issuance of a new VIN.”
West Virginia Title Request – Parts & Tools
The West Virginia DMV offers Title History Request forms which can be filled out at a local branch or online. The fee for this service is $10. The form must be filled out and submitted in order to receive title history for a vehicle.
West Virginia Resources for Car Drivers/Owners
If you’re a car driver or owner in West Virginia, you’ll need to make sure you have auto liability insurance before registering your vehicle. You can obtain this insurance from a dealer or another source.
When you go to register your vehicle, you’ll need to bring along some additional paperwork, including a bill of sale, vehicle title, and valid driver’s license. If your car has a current inspection sticker, you won’t need to get it inspected again until the sticker expires.
You can find more information on the West Virginia DMV website.
Registering a Vehicle in West Virginia
You must have auto liability insurance when registering your vehicle in West Virginia. You can obtain auto liability insurance from a dealer or from a different source. You must provide the necessary paperwork to the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles when registering your vehicle.
You will need to collect additional paperwork if you have not transferred the title of the vehicle or paid at least half the book value for the vehicle. You need to visit your local DMV office to get the paperwork done. You do not need to make an appointment.
If your vehicle has a valid inspection sticker, you do not need to have it inspected again until the sticker expires. If you purchased your vehicle in West Virginia and it does not have a current inspection sticker, you must have it inspected within three days of registering it. Inspections are carried out at a West Virginia State Police approved inspection station.”
How to Write a WV Vehicle Bill of Sale
-The date of the sale
-The make, model, and year of the vehicle
-The VIN (vehicle identification number)
-The selling price of the vehicle
-Both the buyer’s and seller’s name and address
If you’re in the market for a new car, getting a West Virginia assigned VIN is a great way to protect your vehicle. Plus, our state has some of the most competitive car prices in the country. So check out the options available in West Virginia today!