How to Get a North Carolina Assigned Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
Have you ever looked at the North Carolina DMV website and wondered, “What is a VIN?”
The first thing to know about VINs is that they are not your vehicle identification number. Your plates identify your car when it pulls up next to another car on the road or in parking lot. The license plate of each state has a unique identifying number called an “ABC-13VIN.” This allows law enforcement officers and other officials who need this information quickly to check to see if a car is already registered.
North Carolina has the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Other states might call it something different, like the Motor Vehicles Division (MVD), Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV), Driver Services Department (DSD), Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA), Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV), Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC), Department of Licensing (DOL), Department of Driver Services (DDS), Department of Public Safety (DPS), or Department of Transportation (DOT).
If you are inquiring about getting one for your vehicle, the first thing you will need is proof of ownership (receipt) or title-transferred from another state that has VINs. Once that information has been collected, follow these steps:
How Do I Get a North Carolina Assigned Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)?
1. You will need to contact the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles.
2. You will need to provide the following information:
-The make, model, and year of your vehicle
-The vehicle identification number (VIN)
-Your driver’s license number
3. Once you have gathered this information, you will need to submit it to the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles either by mail or in person.
4. The North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles will then assign you a VIN.
What Documents Do I Need to Obtain a North Carolina VIN?
1. A completed Application for Certificate of Title & Registration (MVR-1A). This form is available at any N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles license plate agency or online at www.ncdot.gov/dmv/forms/.
2. The out-of-state title or registration certificate, properly assigned to the applicant with the vehicle identification number (VIN) entered on the application form. If there is no lien recorded on the out-of-state title, it does not have to be brought in to the DMV office; however, you must surrender it to DMV if requested by law enforcement officers or DMV personnel during an investigation
3. If there is a lien recorded on the out-of-state title, bring in both the out-of-state title and a notarized Lien Release Letter from the lienholder authorizing release of their interest in the vehicle before a North Carolina certificate of title can be issued without their name printed as lienholder
4. The odometer reading for vehicles less than 10 years old
Why Should I Run a North Carolina VIN/Card ID Check?
1) To make sure that the car you are buying is not stolen.
2) To find out if the car has been in any accidents.
3) To see if the car has any outstanding recalls.
4) To check for any previous damage that may not have been repaired properly.
North Carolina Vehicle Registration
If you are a new North Carolina resident, you must obtain a North Carolina driver license within 60 days of establishing residency in the state.
You will need to provide proof of identity, residency and vehicle ownership to the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles when you apply for your license.
If you own a vehicle that is currently registered in another state, you must register your vehicle in North Carolina within 30 days of becoming a resident.
To do this, you will need to bring the out-of-state title and registration, as well as proof of insurance to a NCDMV office .
The DMV will issue you a North Carolina license plate and registration card for your vehicle. The registration card will have your assigned Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) printed on it.
Smog Certification/Vehicle Inspection in North Carolina
1. Go to a N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles office with your vehicle registration and proof of insurance.
2. Request a VIN inspection form from the DMV representative.
3. Take the form to a licensed vehicle inspection station, have the vehicle inspected and sign the form certifying that it has been inspected within 90 days prior to registering the vehicle in North Carolina.
4. Return the completed form to the DMV representative when you register your vehicle in North Carolina
Smog Check Exemptions in North Carolina
North Carolina is one of the states that exempts certain vehicles from smog check requirements. If your vehicle is exempt, you will not need to get a smog check.
The following types of vehicles are exempt from smog check requirements in North Carolina:
-Gasoline-powered vehicles that are 30 years old or older
-Diesel-powered vehicles that are 25 years old or older
-Natural gas vehicles
-Hybrid electric vehicles
How to Transfer Your Vehicle Title in North Carolina?
1. Gather the required documents. In order to transfer your vehicle title in North Carolina, you’ll need to have the following items on hand:
-The current title for the vehicle, signed by the previous owner
-A completed Application for Certificate of Title (MVR-1) form
-A completed Odometer Disclosure Statement (MVR-180) form
-Proof of insurance for the vehicle
-Your driver’s license or other valid form of identification
2. Bring the required documents to your local NCDMV office. Once you have all of the necessary paperwork, you can take it to your local NCDMV office to begin the title transfer process.
3. Pay the applicable fees. When you go to submit your paperwork at the NCDMV office, you’ll also need to pay a number of fees associated with transferring a vehicle title in North Carolina. These include:
-$26 for a new certificate of title
-$40 for a lien recording fee (if applicable)
-$15 for a fast card fee (optional)
4. Receive your new certificate of title and registration card. After you’ve paid all applicable fees and submitted all required paperwork, the NCDMV will issue you a new certificate of title and registration card for your vehicle. Make sure to keep these documents in a safe place; you’ll need them any time you need to renew your registration or make other changes to your vehicle.
Where Can I Go to Transfer a Vehicle Title in North Carolina?
You can get an assigned Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) from the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles.
How Much Does a Title Transfer Cost in North Carolina?
A title transfer is the process of transferring ownership of a vehicle from one person to another. In North Carolina, the cost of a title transfer is $52.50. This fee includes the cost of a new title and registration.
Requesting a Duplicate Vehicle Title in North Carolina
If you are the owner of a vehicle that was manufactured without a 17-digit VIN, or if your vehicle’s VIN has been damaged or destroyed, you may obtain an assigned North Carolina VIN. You will need to complete an Application for Assigned North Carolina Vehicle Identification Number (MVR-33A) and submit it to the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles along with a fee of $20. The application must be accompanied by one of the following:
A notarized statement from the manufacturer verifying that the vehicle was manufactured without a 17-digit VIN, or
A police report indicating that the vehicle’s VIN has been damaged or destroyed.
If you have any questions about getting an assigned North Carolina VIN, please contact the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles at (919) 715-7000.
Can I Gift a Car to a Family Member in North Carolina?
If you’re looking to gift a car to a family member in North Carolina, the process is actually quite simple. All you need to do is fill out a few forms and have the car’s title transferred to the new owner. Here’s what you need to know about gifting a car in North Carolina.
First, you’ll need to obtain a North Carolina Assigned Vehicle Identification Number (VIN). You can do this by visiting your local DMV office or by contacting the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles. Once you have the VIN, you’ll need to fill out a Gift Affidavit form and have it notarized. This form can be obtained from the DMV or online.
Next, you’ll need to transfer the car’s title into the new owner’s name. This can be done by visiting your local DMV office or by mail. Be sure to include the completed Gift Affidavit form with your application for title transfer.
Once the title has been transferred, the new owner will need to register their vehicle with the DMV and obtain insurance coverage before they can legally drive it on public roads in North Carolina.
Now that you know how to get a North Carolina assigned vehicle identification number, you can begin the process of registering your vehicle in the state. This number is essential for ensuring that you are able to obtain the proper insurance benefits for your vehicle.