Don't have your VIN Number?
Click here to send yourself a reminder.

How to Get a Mississippi Assigned Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) – Form 78-002

How to Get a Mississippi Assigned Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) – Mississippi Form Form 78-002

If you’ve bought a vehicle in Mississippi, chances are that it carries the state’s assigned VIN. This is to help law enforcement track stolen and missing vehicles across the state.

But what if you don’t have your registration? Or what if they’re not around when someone comes asking for an ID? In this instance, getting your vehicle’s VIN can be tricky business!

This guide will walk through how to obtain your Mississippi-assigned number on both ends of this process:

– If you have your VIN and need to add it to a registration

– If you don’t have the vehicle’s original ID, but want an assigned number

Mississippi has the Driver Service Bureau. Other state motor vehicle departments might call it something different, like the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Motor Vehicles Division (MVD), Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV), Driver Services Department (DSD), Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA), Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV), Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC), Department of Licensing (DOL), Department of Driver Services (DDS), Department of Public Safety (DPS), or Department of Transportation (DOT).

 

How Do I Get a Vehicle Identification Number in Mississippi?

In order to get a VIN in Mississippi, you will need to provide the following:

1. A completed application form

2. The vehicle’s title

3. The vehicle’s registration

4. A valid ID

5. Payment for the fee (see below)

Application Process:

To apply for a VIN in Mississippi, you will need to submit the required documents (listed above) to your local county tax collector’s office or license plate issuing facility. Once your application has been processed, you will be issued a VIN which must be affixed to the vehicle in the designated location. Fees:

The fee for a VIN in Mississippi is $11.

To get a VIN in Mississippi, you will need to fill out an application form and submit it to the Department of Revenue. The form must be accompanied by a fee of $5.

Application Process:

The first step is to download and fill out the Application for Certificate of Title and/or Registration (Form 78-002). Once you have completed the form, you will need to submit it along with the required fee to your local county tax collector’s office or the Mississippi Department of Revenue.

Fees:

The fee for a VIN in Mississippi is $5.

 

What Documents Do I Need for a Mississippi VIN? What About Vehicle Identification Number Requirements?

A bill of sale or other document that shows you are the legal owner of the vehicle. The bill of sale must include:

The date of purchase

The name, address and signature of the seller

The name, address and signature of the buyer.

If the vehicle is less than three years old, you will need a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO) or Dealer’s Invoice. If you have neither, you will need to provide a notarized statement from the previous owner stating that they have sold/traded/gifted the vehicle to you.

Insurance: You must have insurance on the vehicle before you can register it in Mississippi. The insurance policy must be issued by an insurance company licensed to do business in Mississippi. The policy must list:

Your name as insured

The make, model and year of your vehicle

Your policy number Photo ID: You will need to show a valid photo ID when registering your vehicle in Mississippi.

 

Mississippi Vehicle Registration – Vehicle Identification Number Plate

You must have a Mississippi title in your name to register your vehicle in Mississippi.

If you have recently purchased the vehicle from another state, you will need to obtain a Mississippi title before registering the vehicle.

Documents needed:

When you go to register your vehicle, you will need to bring the following documents:

– The completed Application for Certificate of Title and Registration (Form 78-002)

– The out-of-state title or other proof of ownership (e.g., Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin)

– A valid form of identification (e.g., driver’s license, passport)

Fees:

The fees for registering a vehicle in Mississippi vary depending on the type and weight of the vehicle. For example, the fee for registering a passenger car is $24, while the fee for registering a truck with a gross weight between 4,000 and 5,999 pounds is $32.50.

 

What Documents Do I Need to Register a Vehicle in Mississippi? (Hint: You’ll Need Liability Insurance Documents)

The first step in registering any vehicle in Mississippi is to obtain the title from the previous owner. The title must be signed by the previous owner and notarized. If the vehicle is less than three years old, you will also need to provide a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO).

Insurance:

All vehicles driven on Mississippi roads must be insured. You will need to provide proof of insurance when you register your vehicle.

Bill of Sale:

If you purchased your vehicle from a private party, you will need to provide a bill of sale. The bill of sale should include the following information:

-The date of purchase

-The names, addresses and signatures of both the buyer and seller

-The sales price

-A description of the vehicle, including the year, make, model and VIN number.

Odometer Reading:

All vehicles being registered for the first time in Mississippi are required to have an odometer reading certification completed by either a licensed dealer or certified mechanic. The certification must state that the odometer reading is accurate as well as include information about who completed it and when it was done.

 

What Is Form 78-002 in Mississippi?

This form is used to apply for an title application for a vehicle that will be titled in Mississippi.

 

What Is Form 78-017-10-1-1-000 in Mississippi?

If you are planning on titling a vehicle in Mississippi, you will need to obtain an Assigned Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) first. You can do this by filling out Form 78-017-10-1-1-000 and submitting it to the Mississippi Department of Revenue.

Once you have obtained your Assigned Vehicle Identification Number, you will then be able to title your vehicle in Mississippi.

 

What is a Mississippi License Plate?

There are four types of license plates in Mississippi: Standard, Specialty, Military and Personalized.

How to get a license plate:

To get a Standard or Specialty license plate, you must go to your local county tax collector’s office with the following:

-The completed Application for Certificate of Title and Registration (Form 78-004)

-The required fees

-Your out-of-state registration certificate and/or license plate if you’re transferring your registration from another state

If you’re registering a new vehicle, you will also need to provide the following:

-A completed New Vehicle Registration Application (Form 78-006)

-The vehicle’s title certificate or Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MSO) if the vehicle is new

For Military plates, you must go to your local county tax collector’s office with the following:

-The completed Application for Certificate of Title and Registration (Form 78-004) -The required fees -Your out-of state registration certificate and/or license plate if you’re transferring your registration from another state If you’re registering a new vehicle, you will also need to provide the following: -A completed New Vehicle Registration Application (Form 78-006) -The vehicle’s title certificate or Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MSO) if the vehicle is new

To get a Personalized license plate, you must go to your local county tax collector’s office with the following:

-The completed Application for Certificate of Title and Registration (Form 78-004)

-The required fees

-Your out-of state registration certificate and/or license plate if you’re transferring your registration from another state

If you’re registering a new vehicle, you will also need to provide the following:

-A completed New Vehicle Registration Application (Form 78-006) -The vehicle’s title certificate or Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MSO) if the vehicle is new

There are four types of license plates in Mississippi: passenger, motorcycle, truck and trailer. Each type of plate has a different design and must be obtained from the Mississippi Department of Revenue (DOR).

How to get a license plate:

To get a license plate, you must first register your vehicle with the DOR. You will need to provide proof of insurance, the vehicle’s title and registration fee. Once your vehicle is registered, you will be issued a license plate.

How to renew a license plate:

To renew your license plate, you must first renew your vehicle registration with the DOR. You will need to provide proof of insurance and the registration fee. Once your registration is renewed, you will be issued a new license plate.

 

How do I Get a License Plate in Mississippi?

To get a license plate in Mississippi, you’ll need to register your vehicle with the state’s Department of Revenue (DOR). You can do this either online or in person at a DOR office. When you register your vehicle, you’ll need to provide proof of insurance, the vehicle’s title and registration, and your driver’s license. You’ll also need to pay a registration fee.

Application process:

The application process for getting a license plate in Mississippi is relatively simple. First, you’ll need to register your vehicle with the state’s Department of Revenue (DOR). You can do this either online or in person at a DOR office. When you register your vehicle, you’ll need to provide proof of insurance, the vehicle’s title and registration, and your driver’s license. You’ll also need to pay a registration fee. After your application has been processed, you should receive your license plate within 4-6 weeks.

Fees:

The fees for getting a license plate in Mississippi vary depending on the type of vehicle being registered. For example, passenger vehicles have a $24 annual registration fee while motorcycles have a $15 annual fee. There are also additional fees for things like personalized plates and late renewals.

 

Mississippi License Plate Renewal

1. You must have a current Mississippi license plate to renew.

2. You must have the vehicle registration renewal form, which is available online or at your local county tax collector’s office.

3. You must have the required renewal fee, which is $31 for passenger vehicles and $23 for motorcycles

In order to renew your Mississippi license plate, you must first complete a few requirements.

First, you must have your vehicle’s insurance information handy.

Next, locate your renewal notice or letter that was sent to you by the Mississippi Department of Revenue (DOR).

If you cannot find this document, you can also bring in your registration card.

Once you have these items ready, visit your local county tax collector’s office or license commissioner.

You will be asked to fill out a form and present the required documents. After paying the renewal fee, you will be given a new license plate decal to place on your vehicle.

 

Passenger License Plates vs Commercial License Plates in Mississippi – Passenger Vehicle

The Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS) issues passenger license plates to all vehicles registered in the state of Mississippi. The design of the passenger license plate has remained the same for many years, with a blue background and white letters. However, DPS has recently begun issuing new license plates that feature a design with a blue and white wave pattern.

Commercial License Plates:

The Mississippi Department of Revenue (DOR) issues commercial license plates to all vehicles registered in the state of Mississippi that are used for business purposes. The design of commercial license plates is similar to that of passenger plates, with a blue background and white letters. However, commercial plates also have the word “COMMERCIAL” printed across the top.

How to Get a Mississippi Assigned Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):

All vehicles registered in the state of Mississippi must have a valid VIN. If your vehicle does not have a VIN, you can obtain one by contacting the DPS or DOR.

 

Mississippi Bill of Sale Templates: The Forms & Information You Need

A bill of sale is a document that transfers ownership of an item from one person to another. In most cases, you will need a bill of sale when selling a car or other vehicle.

Why You Need a Bill of Sale:

A bill of sale is an important document because it shows that you are the legal owner of the vehicle and that the buyer has paid you for it. The bill of sale also protects both the buyer and the seller in case there are any problems with the vehicle after the sale is complete.

What to Include in a Bill of Sale:

When writing a bill of sale, be sure to include:

– The date of the sale

– The names and addresses of both the buyer and seller

– A description of the item being sold, including make, model, year, VIN (vehicle identification number), mileage, etc.

– The purchase price

– Both parties should sign and date the bill of sale. Keep a copy for your records.

How to Write a Bill Of Sale: Writing a billofsaleis easy if you know what informationto include. Follow these simple steps: 1) On a word processor or using a writing program, create a document with the following information:  The date of the sale  The names and addresses of both the buyer and seller

2) Include a description of the item being sold. Include make, model, year, VIN (vehicle identification number), mileage, etc.

3) Enter the purchase price

4) Both parties should sign and date the bill of sale

5) Keep a copy for your records

 

Conclusion

Getting a Mississippi assigned vehicle identification number (VIN) is a simple process that can be completed in a few steps. Follow the instructions in this guide and you’ll be able to get your VIN in no time.