How to Get a Maine Assigned Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) – Even Register a Homemade Trailer
Need a Maine Assigned Vehicle Identification Number?
Before you head to the DMV, know that there are several ways for you and your car to be assigned an identification number in Maine.
In this blog post I will discuss these methods briefly with some helpful tips and links at the end of each section.
The steps required are: 1) review your current vehicle registration; 2) contact the dealer or manufacturer of your new vehicle if it’s not on file already; 3) request a VIN number from the DMV; 4) find out if your car is stolen or salvage.
Maine has the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). Other states might call it something different, like the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Motor Vehicles Division (MVD), Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV), Driver Services Department (DSD), Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA), Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV), Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC), Department of Licensing (DOL), Department of Driver Services (DDS), Department of Public Safety (DPS), or Department of Transportation (DOT).
What is a VIN and How Does it Affect an ME Vehicle Inspection?
A VIN is a 17-digit code that uniquely identifies a vehicle.
How it affects inspection: The VIN is used to help identify the vehicle during an inspection.
When is a Maine VIN Verification Required?
A VIN verification is required in the state of Maine whenever a vehicle is being registered for the first time. The verification must be completed by a licensed Maine law enforcement officer, a licensed vehicle dealer, or a notary public. The verification process ensures that the vehicle identification number (VIN) on the vehicle matches the one on the registration application.
To get a VIN verification in Maine, you will need to take your vehicle and registration application to one of the authorized individuals listed above. They will then inspect your vehicle to make sure that the VIN on it matches the one on your application. Once they have verified that everything is correct, they will sign and date your application. You will then take this signed and dated application to your local Bureau of Motor Vehicles office to complete the registration process.
What Documents Do I Need to Get a Maine VIN Number?
You will need to provide a proof of ownership document in order to get a Maine VIN number. This can be either a bill of sale or title. If you do not have either of these documents, you may be able to provide a registration certificate from the previous owner.
In order to get a Maine VIN number, you will need to show proof of insurance. This can be in the form of an insurance card, policy declaration, or binder. The insurance must be for the vehicle that you are trying to register.
You will also need to show a photo ID when getting a Maine VIN number. This can be a driver’s license, state ID card, or passport.
What to Bring to a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Verification in Maine
-A completed Application for Certificate of Title & Registration (Form MVT5)
-The out-of-state title or, if the vehicle is coming from a state that doesn’t issue titles for vehicles, the manufacturer’s certificate of origin
-A bill of sale
-$35 title fee
-$8 registration fee
What is a Maine License Plate?
There are four types of license plates in Maine:
1. Standard issue
How Do I Get a License Plate in Maine?
You must have a vehicle identification number (VIN) to register your vehicle in Maine.
To get a VIN, you’ll need to apply for a title at your local Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). The application will require information about the vehicle, such as make, model, and year. Once you have the VIN, you can then register your vehicle and get license plates. Fees:
The fee for a VIN is $8.
Passenger License Plates vs. Commercial License Plates in Maine
-Passenger license plates are for private passenger vehicles, while commercial license plates are for any vehicle used for business purposes.
-Passenger license plates have green lettering on a white background, while commercial license plates have white lettering on a blue background.
-The fee for a passenger license plate is $35, while the fee for a commercial license plate is $100.
-In order to get a passenger license plate, you must submit an application to the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).
-In order to get a commercial license plate, you must submit an application and proof of insurance to the Maine BMV.
Registering a Salvage-titled Vehicle in Maine
In order to register a salvage-titled vehicle in Maine, you will need:
1. A completed Application for Certificate of Title & Registration (form MV-9)
2. A completed Bill of Sale (form MV-6)
3. The vehicle’s out-of-state title or registration
4. If the vehicle was last registered in another state, you will need to provide proof of insurance from that state
5. The required fee of $35
Vehicle Registration Fees in Maine – Trailer Registration
The registration fee for a passenger vehicle is $35. This fee is the same for all vehicles, including motorcycles and trailers. The registration fee for a commercial vehicle is $50. This fee is the same for all vehicles, including buses and trucks.
The VIN fee for a passenger vehicle is $6. This fee is the same for all vehicles, including motorcycles and trailers. The VIN fee for a commercial vehicle is $8. This fee is the same for all vehicles, including buses and trucks.
The total fees for registering a passenger vehicle are $41 ($35 registration + $6 VIN). The total fees for registering a commercial vehicle are $58 ($50 registration + $8 VIN).
Once you have your Maine VIN, you will be able to register your vehicle with the state. This process can be done online or in person at your local DMV office. Be sure to bring all of the required documentation with you to avoid any delays.